Ken McGonigal
3 min readNov 9, 2020

--

Photo by Rosie Kerr on Unsplash

Why is having a positive outlook on life so hard? Is it life? Or is it the way we live each day without purpose? I know, 2020 was a hard year. Let’s face it life is hard. If all we do is watch the news we will not have much hope for the future.

I know watching the news does not help with a positive outlook on life. So what do we do? Here is my list:

  1. Read positive books and articles about goal setting and envision a better life after achieving your goals. Take care of your mind and spirituality.

2. Watch motivational Youtube videos or listen to motivational podcasts. What you put in your mind matters.

3. Listen to positive music with uplifting lyrics.

4. Create something from scratch.

5. Get some physical exercise each day.

I believe the key to completing these activities is purposefulness. We all have choices to make throughout the day every day. When I wake up I can be in a rush because I pressed the snooze button at least twice and now running late for work. Or, I can go to bed early the night before and set my alarm for one hour earlier to start my day.

So how do you or I become purposeful in our endeavors? I believe writing them down on a calendar is a good way. If I say I want to go to Mexico for a vacation someday it is too vague to be a goal. If I change it to On February 4, 2021, I…

--

--

Ken McGonigal

I like to talk about things that help make your life better.